Author
Old photos of Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Flag of Ampthill

Cities of World | Cities of United Kingdom | Cities of Bedfordshire

History of Ampthill, Bedfordshire in photos

A small historical reference

History: The name 'Ampthill' is of Anglo-Saxon origin, as the first settlement was called 'Aemethyll', which literally means either 'ant-heap' or 'ant infested hill'. In 1219, King Henry III confirmed the right to hold a market on Thursday's in the town and this remains a fixture of life in Ampthill to this day.

The Market Square was originally the heart of the town and the location of the medieval market.

Much of Ampthill's unique charm is owed to the residents of Ampthill Park House, Lord Upper Ossory reorganised the layout of the Market Square, built the charming thatched Ossory Cottages and erected Katherine's Cross. Lord Ossory's nephew, Lord Holland, endowed the town with its fine avenue of lime trees, the Alameda.

Along Church Street can be seen a fine selection of historic buildings with Avenue House dominating the street scene. In the 20th century Avenue House was the home of Sir Albert Richardson, an eminent architect, writer and past President of the Royal Academy. The former Mid Bedfordshire District Council Offices in Dunstable Street are one of Professor Richardson's most notable designs as is the town's war memorial in the Alameda. ampthilltowncouncil.org.uk

Date of foundation: The first mention in the Domesday Book - 1086

Population: 7 028

Ceremonial county: Bedfordshire

Ampthill. Houghton Conquest Church, 1907
Houghton Conquest Church, 1907
Ampthill. Soldiers Memorial
Soldiers Memorial
Ampthill. St. Andrew's Church, 1906
St. Andrew's Church, 1906
Ampthill. Woburn Road
Woburn Road
Ampthill. Church Street
Church Street
Ampthill. Park House, 1905
Park House, 1905
Ampthill. Railway Station, 1960
Railway Station, 1960
Ampthill. Wesleyan church
Wesleyan church

Photos posted on the website in accordance with Article 7, paragraph 1 of the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of 9 September 1886, the term of protection which is fifty years after the author's death.

After this period photos it becomes public domain. The participants of the Berne Convention are 167 States.


Site created 29.01.2017. I labor for .

Яндекс.Метрика